Living A Consistent Life

Well, hello there!! Been a while, hasn’t it?!

Before I begin, I want to first ask for your prayers. I started this blog to help create dialog between myself and others in order to start my work in making our country and this world a better place to live. My goal in doing this is to have a place where we can share ideas and thoughts relating to topics that men usually have on their mind – Faith, Sports, and Politics.

But there is another reason for my website, that is to keep me in God’s Word, always meditating and keeping my body in subjection, lest after preaching to other I myself should become disqualified (1 Cor. 9:24-27). 

I do this due to a number of reasons. First, in my recent diagnosis and “treatment” (for lack of a better term), one of the most effective and proven ways to beat having control and anger issues is to always be in God’s Word. You really can’t be angry and have control issues when you are spending time reading and meditating on His word! If you are.. well.. you probably have read something that you don’t want to read and now you have to change your life. Not Scripture’s fault, but your own.

Secondly, I want to spread the Gospel to everyone! I want as many people as possible to get to Heaven. And I want others to help me get there as well! As said in Proverbs 27:17, “Iron sharpens iron, and one man sharpens another.” We Know that the Word of God is a sword (Eph. 6:10-20) and you can’t sharpen a sword that is sitting on the shelf!

Lastly, and the focus of the blog today, is to live a life of consistency. That is one of my biggest struggles in this life.. being consistent. Not necessarily with my walk with the Lord, but rather keeping up with my daily Bible reading, preaching to others, meditating on His word. Those things.

We all have busy lives. Yours is just as busy, if not more busy, than mine. I have two little girls under 3, another child on the way, a wonderful lovely wife who stays home with the kids while growing her own business. I travel for my job from time to time and training to compete in my very first sprint triathlon this weekend! Needless to say, our schedules are pretty packed. Clothes don’t get folded. Dishes sit in the sink for a couple of days.. you know how it is. You are nodding your head as well, and if you aren’t it is probably because you are not there in your life just yet or you recently got out of that stage and now have an empty nest.

We all have busy lives, but that does not excuse oneself from giving God all that you have.

One of my favorite sermons to preach on is over James 1:22-25 about the man that looks at his face in the mirror and quickly forgets what he sees (you can find the most recent recording here).. and I may need to dust off that sermon and reread it to myself.

Do you find yourself in the same position, though? Do you feel like you sometimes have all these great things you want to do in your walk with God? Something as simple as saying a morning prayer before going to work. Maybe starting a family Bible study about Proverbs. Maybe it is something trivial like finishing that “weekend project” you started 3 years ago. And then you wake up one day, look in the mirror and think “how did I get here?”

Friend – you are not alone. So pray for me. Pray for me that I will at least be able to have 2 blog posts a week to reflect on God’s Word. Pray for me that everyday I will open His word and meditate on a passage. Pray for me that I can do so effectively and instill these same principles in my little family.

Pray for me to live a life of consistency. And I will do the same for you.

God bless!

Leave a Reply

