Constitutional Authority 101 – Back to the Basics

Before I begin this post, I want you to know that I am in no way shape or form trying to cause division between my brethren, family, friends, co-workers and fellow Americans. As mentioned in my very first post as well as my About Page, the purpose of this blog site is to bring awareness, communication and education to all men (like they did back when our country was founded) and have rational reasonable discussions about the hot topics of the day.

I want this to be civil and everyone show each other honor and respect. I will allow and and such comments on opposing views so long as they are done with respect. While I am a Conservative, I frown upon ANY one that tries to silence the “other side”. We got here as Americans by talking through our thoughts and come to an understanding on how we can shape this country. And for that, I am forever grateful we live in such a country!

Ok — now on to the hot topic of the day: Sanctuary City funding. According to multiple news sources (CNN, ABC, FOX, etc.) a federal judge today blocked part of President Trumps Executive Order on “Enhancing Public Safety in the Interior of the United States“. I believe this is Judicial Overreach and have laid out my argument below.

First, we must understand that the President has all authority to “take Care that the Laws be faithfully executed”, as stated in Article II, Section III of the Constitution. It has been a precedent in this country to allow the President full authority to issue Executive Orders to make sure such laws have been faithfully executed. On January 25, 2017, President Trump did just that.

I would have you note, that in his Executive Order, which you can read in it’s entirety here, states in Section 9 that he is essentially restoring order back to what the US Code was intended to do.. Mind you, 8 U.S. Code 1373 was passed in accordance to Clinton’s Immigration Reform bill in 1996!

So, what does the code actually say? It states that NO ONE at the Federal, State, and local level can limit any and all access to the Federal government with information about if individuals are in this country legally or not. Sanctuary Cities, by definition, are in direct violation with this law. A Sanctuary City is a city that limits its cooperation with the national government in order to help people who are in the country illegally avoid deportation.

Therefore, by restoring Law and Order to a bipartisan bill and US Code that was passed in 1996, I believe President Trump has ALL authority to limit funding to these cities as they are in direct opposition to the law. I also believe that anyone who assists Sanctuary Cities by caring out their work is also in violation of 8 U.S. Code 1373.

As mentioned before, I am only a man with a limited amount of knowledge. But the knowledge I do have is pointing me to this conclusion. I welcome any and all conversations relating to this issue, but please remember to be respectful and do so out of love for one another. If at any point comments prove to be attacking and demeaning with the intent to do harm and not good, I will delete your comment.

Remember, we are all trying to make America the land we know it has the potential to be! Let’s ALWAYS keep this in mind, no matter our political views.

Thank You, and God Bless!

Leave a Reply

