God, Hot Dogs, and Baseball

Three of my favorite words. But what do all three have in common?

Today is Wednesday, and I am not 100% certain on any of the other major ballparks, but Wednesday’s are Dollar Hotdog night at Globe Life Park in Arlington (where the only baseball team you should consider plays, the Texas Rangers). Yes, you heard that right, DOLLAR HOT DOGS!!

Man, I can put down some hot dogs! I remember when I was in high school we went on a choir trip to Dallas (mind you, I am from small-townville, USA.. so going to Dallas was a BIG DEAL!), and after we were done competing we went to a Ranger’s game and sat in the All You Can Eat section.

Best. Decision. EVER! Our seats were out in right field above the bullpen. We got to throw a ball down to get autographed and even had Jim Knox announce one of our choir members as the Fan of the Game!

What was even better was putting down some hot dogs! And you HAVE to go only Mustard.. none of that communist ketchup stuff! You save that for your fries! When it was all said and done, I think my friends and 1 ate 9 or 10… a piece! Yes.. I used to eat 10 hot dogs in a 3 hour window.. not one of my proudest moments.

But what does this have to do with God?

Because today is Wednesday. Do you know how tempting it is to go to the ball park after a long day at work and relax with my wife and kids and knock out some hot dogs! Shoot, we can eat as a family for under $10!! Not to mention catch some awesome baseball while we are at it!

But I don’t. Never have been to Dollar Hot Dog Night. Know why? Because they are always a night game. 7:05 first pitch.

You see, I gave my life over to something greater than hot dogs and baseball.. and no, it is not the Dallas Cowboys. I gave my life over to Jesus Christ, my Savior and my Redeemer. And our Elders at the congregation I attend have set aside Wednesday nights starting at 7:30 as a time for us to meet in the middle of the week, have a 45 minute Bible Study, make melody unto our Lord and hear a portion of God’s Word.

What an awesome way to reset during the week!

Paul tells us in 1 Timothy 4:3-5 that people will come wanting to have their ears tickled. You can refer to my earlier post about those that only attend services a few times a year. Why? Because that is convenient. It makes them feel good to only have to commit 5 hours out of the year to think about God. Their ears have been tickled by their teaching.

Let me tell you something – knowing that dollar hot dogs are only 35 minutes from my house tickles my ears. Knowing that I can relax with my wife and kids after a long day at work tickles my ears. Knowing that Designated Survivor AND  Blindspot both come on TV on Wednesday nights tickles my ears.

But you know what makes me happier than all of those worldly things? Seeing my daughters come out of Bible Class on Wednesday nights with the lesson they learned about ready to show Mommy and Daddy what they learned about Jesus! Seeing my brethren who have been dealing with cancer and sickness sit at the front of the auditorium because they had the strength to get out of bed and make it to services. Singing songs unto my great God thanking Him for all that He has done for us. Opening His Word and reading about ways to better my life and be a better Christian, husband, father, and brother.

THAT  makes me happier than a dollar hot dog!

So I ask you – have your ears been tickled today? Are you going to listen to what the world has to offer tonight, or will I see you at services?

After all, Steak & Shake, Wienerschnitzel, and Five Guys all have great hot dogs, and they all are open past the time services end.. just saying! So grab your family and your Bibles and I will see you at services tonight, ready to worship our Lord!

Leave a Reply

